[Five Deadly Everythings]

I’ve always found twins somewhat unsettling

Posted in news stories by Jef on March 6, 2010

And I definitely blame pop culture for that. Not the twins I’ve met in real life, mind you (I don’t have a weird knee-jerk phobia of them), but just TWINS, the concept, the idea of them. Those scary girls from The Shining, and all that. The crux of it really is that ever since I was a kid one of my favourite sci-fi-ish concepts has been the doppelgänger, the sinister double of a living person.

This also might explain why The Prestige has slowly been climbing my list of favourite movies (er, spoiler alert), and why I love Robert J. Sawyer’s books, especially “Mindscan”, where a man creates a duplicate of himself and then pretty much is an a-hole to himself.

Anyway, yesterday the Star reported on the bizarre case of a woman who is accusing her boyfriend’s twin brother of sexual assault — she thought he was her boyfriend and he thought she knew it wasn’t. I had to read this story more than once, because it feels so loaded with implications and extrapolations. This is why I love reading the local crime stories in any newspaper. This story in particular is the kind of stuff you couldn’t write yourself, it’s just so horrible and horribly (I know!) fascinating.

Except of course for the fact that someone already HAS written it, in a Battlestar Galactica episode.

Remember when Boomer/Sharon pretended to be Athena/Sharon and got it on with Athena’s husband Helo in the bathroom?

Yeah, that didn’t go over so well either.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. trE said, on March 7, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    Funny, I’ve always wanted a twin and have always been fascinated by them. Two of my closest friends are twins and my friend of nearly 16 years has twin girls. LOL… That news-story is frightening. I think that is what keeps me from dating an Identical twin male… 😦

  2. Jef said, on March 21, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Oh wow you are SURROUNDED by twins. Would you actually cease dating someone you were getting on with if you found out they had a body-double?


Leave a Reply

