[Five Deadly Everythings]

Look at this f–king monster

Posted in animation, books, comics, monsters by Jef on January 18, 2010

This beast was recently discovered and some people are speculating it’s the legendary chupacabra, even though it looks like nothing like Taylor Lautner. Well ok it looks a LITTLE like Taylor Lautner. Chupacabra, by the way, translates to “goat sucker”, which is highly disappointing as far as monster names go. I don’t want to get into it, but that also means I am technically a chupacabra. Just joking, sort of.

Monsters have been on my mind recently because I finally read that copy of “The Island of Dr. Moreau” that has been on my bookshelf for a decade or so. H.G. Wells’ tale is a little hard to get through because the basic story has been re-done a million times and his prose isn’t tasty enough to get you through a meal you’ve already had but with more gravy. I know this is kind of blasphemous, but I couldn’t read “Moreau” without picturing that episode of the Batman cartoon, where Bats chases after Catwoman to an island of beast-men and befriends the Man-Beast and it all ends with a reading of Blake’s “The Tiger”:

What IS dope about the book (besides the obvious glee Wells gets from describing stupid slow things) is that I had no idea the original island-scientist-creates-horrible-man-monsters narrative was so clearly about religion, and humanity’s use (in Wells’ eyes) of faith to keep us from realizing our beastly natures. Most times I’ve encountered it, as in the Batman episode, it has been re-molded as a cautionary tale about science and playing-God (which while somewhat related to Wells’ intent isn’t nearly the same thing), or it’s been made to be about tolerance and animal cruelty.

In other news, that likewise I was not cool enough to discover on my own, check out this Wikipedia list of monsters. I am happy that such a thing exists.

And yes, this is how I return to my personal blog, which I have missed. Even though I will be disappearing again on vacay next week, so don’t call it a comeback. (This post has been brought to you by a Half-baked New Year’s Resolution.)

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anupa said, on January 19, 2010 at 1:16 am

    hahaha i wondered if this was inspired by the list of monsters.
    CHUPACAVRAAA!

  2. trE said, on February 14, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    I’m kinda scared… Just a little… 😦 But, I’m just a little intrigued now about reading “Moreau.” Should I?

  3. The Broads said, on February 17, 2010 at 1:41 am

    Creepy. Nice blog, I’m all about monsters.

    Mimi


Leave a Reply

