[Five Deadly Everythings]

A review of my album reviewing experience

Posted in music by Jef on September 25, 2007

Last Thursday my internship sent me to the listening party for Nicole Scherzinger’s solo album, Her Name is Nicole. You may know Scherzinger as the lead singer of The Pussycat Dolls, who were all over radio and television last year with singles from their album, PCD.

As a newbie journalist, the listening party was a very interesting experience for a number of different reasons.

Confession: I kind of liked the album, even though I loathe the Pussycat Dolls. Bigger confession: I was kind of drunk when I listened to it. I had a suspicion when I walked into the posh downtown lounge that they might try to ply us with liquor in the hopes for better album reviews. And they did, and maybe it worked. It was my first time at one of these industry functions, and I was weak.

On Her Name is Nicole, Scherzinger shows
she has more tricks up her sleeve.

You can get the full record review later when the new issue of our magazine drops and you go buy it at your local bookstore.

Another interesting aspect of the listening party was that everybody seemed to know each other. I was the only one there who didn’t have someone to catch up on old times with. It leaves me wondering how many in attendance were media like myself, how many were industry execs or PR people, and what the difference really is once alcohol gets mixed in.

Which leads me to my final observation: nobody really cared about listening to the music. Everyone was enjoying the ambiance and hor dourves. The small talk was almost as loud the beats. One of the label execs even took a friendly jab at my expense because I was furiously taking notes and constantly asking the titles of songs.

Meeting and talking with the industry folk was an experience all in itself. I spent time with one of them afterwards talking in-depth about pop music. Picture your average talk among music-snobs, except substitute any indie bands with pop acts like Rihanna and Ne-yo, and you’ll get a fair idea of how our conversation sounded.

The rep from Interscope Records said they are putting all their resources behind this album for final quarter. So like it or not, get ready to hear and see Nicole all over the place.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. B said, on October 4, 2007 at 10:48 am

    Oh, what you write is so true – these listening parties are all about the PR machine it seems. An usually industry execs are too cool to actually discuss the music or pay attention to what is going on. So true, so true.
    -B


Leave a Reply

